From Bologne to Verona 


I leave my friends at the hotel lounge and head to the taxi for the train station. Destination: Verona.

Maybe I should stay at Bologne. The city is nice, there’s no rain on the weather menu for today and definitely so much more to see than what we could squeeze between the intensive symposium schedules. But the room is booked and I must admit I really feel like wandering, on train and foot, in new places instead of offering a more attentive look to known ones, albeit badly. 

The train system in Italy has been a mystery to me until this morning. While searching for the trains’ timetables, I would find longer trips costing more than shorter ones. Odd. I even thought they had some sort of pay per minute system (I do like trains…), but the guy from the hotel staff explained to me that it depends on the number of available seats: the less, the more you pay.

I don’t see the train station before I’m literally in it’s guts: there’s what seems to be an underground car park where the taxi gets in before I realize we’re already there. There are no cars parked though; it’s more of a private traffic road. From there I walk to a corridor leading to different platforms; I don’t get a train station feeling until I find the tickets machine, placed in an open area. I give up buying the return ticket also, since people in the queue are almost buhing at me, but apart that the tickets vending machines work just fine. Heads up, there’s really a lot of them, so no need of rushes.

It’s just when I’m already inside the train that I understand that it’s final destination is Munich (yes, my Italian is that bad). I’m always surprised with this Central Europe mobility, since in Portugal, for obvious reasons, you cannot exactly get in a train to that many European cities. One of the stops is at Innsbruck, which has been in my want-to-go-list for at least 5 years. All of the sudden, the “I could come to Bologna for training for a month” is a plan that clearly needs an extended version.

***

Deixo os meus colegas no hotel e apanho um táxi para a estação de comboios. Destino: Verona.

Se calhar devia ficar em Bolonha… A cidade é simpática, não há previsão de chuva no menú meteorológico e há sem dúvida muito mais para ver do que aquilo que conseguimos encaixar por entre o programa intensivo do simpósio. Mas o quarto está reservado e devo admitir que me apetece mesmo vaguear, de comboio e a pé, em sítios novos, ao invés de lançar um novo olhar sobre lugares conhecidos, ainda que superficialmente. 

O esquema dos comboios em Itália foi um mistério para mim até esta manhã. Ao procurar os horários, deparei-me com viagens mais longas a preços mais altos. Estranho. Cheguei mesmo a desconfiar de um sistema do tipo pague por minuto (eu gosto mesmo de andar de comboio), mas o funcionário do hotel explicou-me que varia de acordo com o número de lugares disponíveis: quantos menos, mais alto o preço. 

Na chego a ver a estação antes de já estar lá dentro: há um parque subterrâneo no qual o táxi entra antes de eu me aperceber que chegamos. Mas não há carros estacionados; o subterrâneo é afinal uma especie de acesso privado. Caminho por um corredor que dá acesso às diferentes plataformas, mas só me sinto verdadeiramente numa estação de comboios quando encontro a máquina de venda de bilhetes, localizada num espaço aberto. Desisto de tentar comprar já o bilhete de regresso, uma vez que as pessoas atrás de mim na fila estão a refilar, mas fora isso a máquina funciona bastante bem. Um aviso: há imensas, por isso não há razão para pressas. 

Já estou no comboio quando percebo que ele tem como destino Munique (sim, o meu italiano é francamente mau…). Esta mobilidade flexível da Europa central consegue sempre supreender-me já que em Portugal, por razões óbvias, não são muitas as cidades europeias acessíveis de comboio. Uma das paragens é Insbruck, que faz parte da minha lista de sítios a ir há pelo menos cinco anos. De repente, o “podia ver para Bolinha fazer um estágio de um mês”torna-se num plano a pedir uma extensão temporal. 

Leave a Reply

